2 bed minimalist bungalow in quaint English market town (+45 minutes train to London city centre)

/ 5,607

Hi! I'm Kim, originally from Scotland but I live in middle England. We are a home educating family of 4 about to fully embark on our worldschooling adventure. We're clean, considerate and will treat your home with respect. We ask for the same in return :)
I work remotely (so will need internet in your house if we swap) and we are a very flexible family. I've travelled a bit and I can confidently say that our little market town is one of the best places to live, especially in the UK, we're very fortunate to have our base here and I look forward to welcoming other families to our quaint little market town.
We are interested in house sitting/pet sitting also.

PS We don't smoke, drink or take drugs so you won't have to worry about that happening in your home and we don't want that happening in our home either.

Private Message
Advert #2166

Deeping Gate, United Kingdom

I believe our home really does offer the best of both worlds. We live in a beautiful and very safe market town in middle England surrounded by the English countryside and we’re also close enough to major cities. We’ve got lovely neighbours, a few parks, independent stores, lovely restaurants, a wine bar, a doctors surgery and a big Tesco superstore in our market town.

There’s a traditional vintage tea room and I really recommend you visit, it’s beautiful! The town also has it’s own market every Wednesday. We have rivers, fields, forests and even traditional cobbled streets surrounding us. It’s a unique town, a hidden gem, because it’s very British yet also open minded, a lot of people move here from London (like myself). Nearby in Stamford there are Michelin star restaurants and upmarket boutiques. Stamford is constantly voted #1 place to live for families in the UK in various polls. Peterborough has mainstream shops, chain restaurants, a few museums and is like a mini London, very multi-cultural.

Lots of events happen in our town such as community raft races where teams build their own rafts, duck race(rubber ducks!) a 3 day music and beer festival, children’s fairs, a Victorian festival and there are loads of traditional Christmas markets around us, including one in our own town.

We are close to Peterborough, the fastest growing city in the UK and being in the middle of England we are also only a few hours drive away from all the major places in England in all directions such as Birmingham, Leeds, Leicester, Manchester, Sheffield, Worcestershire(Shakespeare county),Norwich, Cambridge, Lincoln, Milton Keynes, London. You can get to London by train in 45 minutes from Peterborough station. Very good travel links.

Prince William & the Duchess of Cambridge’s residence at Sandringham, Norfolk, is a 50 minute drive from us and the beautiful Norfolk beaches are 1 hour 30 minutes away.

Plenty for children to do & lots of sightseeing around, especially historical. We have an archaeological site nearby called Flag Fen where things from the Bronze Age have been found and are displayed – brilliant for learning and children can be an archaeologist for the day with the digging experience. There’s an animal refuge 5 minutes from our home which cares for marmosets, a silver wolf, peacocks, a lynx, massive owls, wallabies, alligators and many more. Leicester is where the National Space Centre is and that is 1 hour from us.

We have a very good established home education/unschooling community and I’d be happy to give you their details and weekly schedules.

Our home is “tiny house” standard in comparison to most American homes and we love minimalism, we do have a few boxes of toys available and baby items.
Master bedroom has a super kingsize bed with luxury cashmere mattress and bookcase.

Small bedroom has an IKEA sofa/single bed/double bed (sofa/single bed converts in to a double bed if you need it.)
We have a shower room with walk in electric shower, toilet & sink.
Kitchen is a good size(small) for easy cooking and round table seats 4, washer dryer, double oven, slow cooker, kettle, toaster and food processor.
Lounge has a 3 seater sofa (new sofa since photo was taken), wifi, sky TV(TV is now on the wall above the IKEA kallax system). Central heating & thermostat. Fire alarm & carbon monoxide detectors in every room.

No smoking, drugs or alcohol (glass of wine with dinner is fine). No pets.

We are open to house swaps anywhere as we want to spend time all over the whole world (including UK), with particular interest in the South coast of the UK such as Bournemouth, Southampton, Portsmouth, Brighton. We’re also particularly interested in Spain, Canary Islands, Portugal, California, Florida. At the moment we want to swap for up to one month.

Country United Kingdom
State/Province England
distance: 180 Kilometers
Address Deeping Gate, United Kingdom