Friendly Aussie family (2 adults/1 tween/1 toddler) to house sit or rent

/ 1,026

Private Message
Advert #4324

Los Cacicazgos, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

We are looking to either house sit or rent. We are currently in the Dominican Republic visiting family. We will be in New York from late March but we are open to anything on the North East Coast of North America or Europe from late March to Late July.

About our family:
Arlene is in her Mid-40’s Mum, library technician, writer, natural health, bibliophile, lover of classic film, arts and nature. Gibran (Dad) is an internet marketing business owner, philosopher, natural health advocate, experimental cook, deep conversationalist. Rhiana is a 10 year-old girl that loves animals, Minecraft, Harry Potter, swimming and dreaming. Rowan is a toddler, always has a smile for you and obsessed with shiny things. We are all vegetarian. We make up the Selman family from the Central Coast, an hour north of Sydney, Australia.

Why we want to house sit:
We have been living in a semi-urban area of Australia. Lovely as it is we missed the experience of travel and meeting new places and friends. We are currently visiting family in the Dominican Republic and intend to travel to Europe and North America but are also open to what life brings. We thought that house-sitting would give us a chance to feel what it is like to really be in a place. And what better way than to make a new furry/feather/scaly friends. We have done extensive travel as a family, couple and individually and we wanted to take a gap year to be with our 10 year old daughter before she begins teenage life.

Our experience
We are newbies to the house-sitting world, but not new to caring for places and pets. We had the opportunity to house sit for friends for a month and we really loved it. Plov, a very adventurous cat with Houdini tendencies kept us company while we tended to a very active garden. We have looked after many types of gardens and dwellings.

Arlene grew up in a house full of pets. This included a Doberman Pinscher, an Eastern Rosella, a Sulphur-crested cockatoo and various cats, dogs, fish, etc. She regularly stayed with her grandma and helped in tending her chickens and ducks.

Please see testimonials from AirBNB:

Country Dominican Republic
State/Province Distrito Nacional
distance: 7,032 Kilometers
Address Los Cacicazgos, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic