Aussie Mum & Twins on 12 month international adventure

/ 8,410

My name is Lara and I am a 44 year old Australian single mum of 8 year old twins Archie & Larissa.
From July, 2015 we are setting off on a 12 month adventure around the world as an experiment to try the life of digital nomads and venture into world-schooling.

Private Message
Advert #487

Providence, Rhode Island, United States

We are Lara, Archie & Larissa, a friendly mum and her twins who love animals and enjoy looking after pets and would like to do something different and see a little bit more of the world.

We will be in the States from late July to mid September, Costa Rica from mid September to mid December, back to the States from mid December to mid January, Italy from January to April and Thailand from April to July.

I am a non-smoker and the three of us are active and enjoy a healthy lifestyle. We are seeking a little adventure and welcome the opportunity to live in rural or more remote locations.

We have house-sat before, I am a home and pet owner and have a wealth of experience, skills and knowledge all of which enable us to competently care for your home and animals wherever you live.

I work remotely as a freelance writer and consultant so have the flexibility to step into your shoes whilst you are away. We require very little other than a reliable internet connection. We relish the opportunity to sample life in new communities and would be thrilled to spend our days caring for your four legged friends. (And winged ones as well!!)

Prior to becoming a freelancer 8 months ago I had senior positions in Sales & Marketing focussing on the Tourism Industry. In addition to working as a freelancer, I also write and run my own blog entitled My Notes from New England which chronicles my life in the country with Archie, Rissie, the dogs, chooks and beautiful area where I currently reside. I would be using the blog to also chronicle our travels.

The three of us are passionate animal lovers owning one Koolie named Kevin and a Koolie/ Border Collie Cross named Rosie. We also have a flock of winged characters who live in the Chicken House. On occasion I look after the neighbour’s sheep and horses.

I am exceptionally tidy and respectful of people’s space and possessions. Archie and Rissie are well behaved children who adore animals and love being healthy and active.

I like the idea of travelling at a relatively slow pace to fully experience and appreciate the places we visit. My consultancy work and the kids education means that life is easier when we have a base from which to complete work and schooling. I love the idea of a house sit experience providing a base and an opportunity to see an environment from a local’s perspective.

I think House sitting is a wonderful concept, It allows travel to new places whilst providing a solution where accommodation costs are not an issue. I also love the idea that it offers chances to meet new people and develop friendships. Knowing how I feel about my own home and pets I would ensure that on your return your house is spotlessly clean, linen washed and pets are relaxed, contented, exercised and happy.

I spent my 20’s working and travelling and have little interest in participating in the local tourist trail. Rather I would like the kids and myself to focus on caring for a home and animals in a different place and immersing ourselves in the local community and culture.

Country United States of America
State/Province Rhode Island
distance: 5,217 Kilometers
Address Providence, Rhode Island, United States